Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for December 17th, 2009

A Step towards my dreams

On  Tuesday 15th December I got notice from the organizers of the 2nd Abuja literary festival indicating that my short story entry “On the Hot seat” has made the short list for the prize for short Story.  The award will be announced on Saturday 19th Dec 2009.

Expectedly I was excited. My excitement were for many reasons, among which is the fact that honestly I think I need the prize money to make this festivities feel better and of course the push the award will give me psychologically to enter the new year with greater steam. It would be a sweet climax to a year that has been (to use the words of Mrs. Obasanjo in her autobiography) “Bitter- Sweet”.

But there are five of us and there could only be one winner and two consolation prizes to the 2nd and 3rd. I looked at the list and my heart sank. I am the youngest of the bunch I think.  I searched my Laptop for the story which I had not reread since I sent in the entry and I am like Gosh…..may be I could have done better…is this good enough to win?…No need to get my hopes high and then get it crashed on the day.

On a second thought, I find many other reasons to be happy whether or not I win. I had entered for the maiden edition of the competition last year and I didn’t make the short list. Now a year after, mine is one of the five stories the Judges felt is worthy of the award. Personally it means to me that my writing is improving and I am getting better in my craft.

It’s a long journey to Success and stardom….did I mention I aim to win The Booker…if nothing else, this is a first step, a step towards my Booker…a step I should be proud of.

I thank all those who have played a role in making me a better writer. I know I am the blue print of what is to come and I shall not take my eyes off the road…not even for a second.

Sylva Nze Ifedigbo

Read Full Post »